Resources & Quotas


Explanations of various resources and how to increase their respective quota limits.


Traffic Cycle

Regardless of account’s billing period, traffic usage is calculated at the end of the cycle. This is one month or less depending on if the cycle is forced to close. Possible reasons for closure include the following:

  • Billing period closure
  • Changing to another billing period
  • Changing to another plan

An example of this is if you sign up for an account on the 1st of January, then the traffic will be closed and reset on the 1st of each month.

The traffic run up during the last day of the cycle is transferred to the next traffic cycle calculations.


Traffic Summary

You can view the summary of your traffic through your Control Panel.

  1. Navigate to Account > Quick Access.

  2. Click the Magnifying Glass Icon next to Total Traffic located on the Quick Access Page.
  3. Image 1

  4. Now you should be able to see a break down of your total traffic throughout your account.
  5. Image 1


Traffic Calculation

Traffic Type

Generated

FTP User

on uploading files to your web account. If you have any FTP sub-accounts, their traffic will be included here, too.

Virtual FTP

when authorized or anonymous internet users download, upload or view files in your virtual FTP directories. If you administer your account through dedicated IP, it will be also added to Virtual FTP Traffic.

Mail

on receiving/sending e-mail messages.

HTTP

on internet visitors browsing your web site(s).

Real Server FTP

on internet users downloading media files from your RealServer directory.

Real User FTP

on uploading your media files to your RealServer directory.

Note: Control Panel navigation is not included into the total traffic.

  • Traffic limit for a traffic cycle is prorated to the period from the start of the traffic month to the day when the traffic limit is changed.
  • The resulting GBs are subtracted from total traffic run up by this day. The traffic run up during the last day of the traffic cycle is transferred to the next traffic cycle calculations.
  • If the result is positive, it is accrued usage fee.
  • Traffic is reset.
  • If at the beginning of the billing period you pre-paid for the traffic limit, you are refunded the recurrent fee prorated to the time left to the end of the billing period.
  • If new traffic limit is higher than free GBs provided by the plan, you are accrued recurrent fee prorated to the time left to the end of the billing period.

Traffic Limit

This is the gigabytes of transferred data you pre-pay for at the beginning of the billing period. Every month the system checks if you stay within the limit, and if you don’t, it charges you for the excess. Then your traffic is reset. Control Panel navigation is not included into the total traffic.

Total traffic limit

This is the amount of traffic which you pay for in advance and is charged at a recurrent fee. However, please note the following:

  • If you fail to use up all of your quota, you are not refunded the payment for any unused megabytes
  • If you exceed your quota, then you will be charged usage fee per each gigabyte of excess traffic

You can always buy additional amount of the resource in order not to be charged the extra payment. The system e-mails you a notification once you have used 80% of the traffic limit.

If you expect to run up more traffic than comes with your plan, it’s a good idea to raise your traffic limit.


Changing your Traffic Limit

  1. Navigate to Account > Quick Access.

  2. Click the Pencil Icon next to Total Traffic located on the Quick Access Page.
  3. Image 1

  4. On this page, you can enter summary traffic you expect to run up over the month.
  5. Image 1

  6. A page will come up asking you to confirm the payment amount. Click Yes, I agree if you wish to continue, or No, I cancel to stop the process and return to the Quick Access Page.
  7. Image 1

  8. You will now see that the changes to your Traffic have been made
  9. Image 1


Disk Quota Summary

When you reach, approach, or exceed the default size of your hosting packages inclusive disk quota you will receive an email to the primary account contact with the subject “Warning (Approaching resource limit)”.

When you reach 100% of your hosting packages inclusive web quota/storage no further data will be written to disk within your account.
This means that:

  • FTP uploads may not complete successfully.
  • User uploads via your website may not complete successfully.
  • Transfer and error logs will not be written to disk.

In order to stop receiving warning emails you must do one of the following:

  • Remove any old or un-used data via FTP.
  • Disable the storage of log-files for very busy websites.
  • Increase the inclusive storage of your disk to beyond the current usage (at additional cost). Simple instructions on how to increase disk quota can be seen below.

Changing Disk Quota

  1. Navigate to Account > Quick Access.
  2. Select the Edit icon in the Disk quota section.
  3. Input the new disk quota in MB and select Submit

Database Quota Summary

When you reach, approach, or exceed the default size of your hosting packages inclusive database quota you will receive an email to the primary account contact with the subject “Warning (Approaching resource limit)”.

If you exceed your inclusive database quota, you will be charged over-usage on every MB above the inclusive database quota.

In order to stop receiving warning emails you must either:

  • Increase the inclusive storage of your database to beyond the current usage (at additional cost). Simple instructions on how to increase database storage can be found for MySQL and MSSQL.
  • Reduce the size of data stored in the database (either through archiving or deletion).
    Please note: MSSQL transaction logs are shrunk on a nightly basis.

Mailbox Quota Summary

When you reach, approach, or exceed the inclusive quota size of your mailbox you will receive an email to the primary account contact with the subject “Warning (Approaching resource limit)”.

Unlike the other resources outlined above, if the mailbox reaches its quota it will not receive any further emails; There will be no backlog stored for your emails, and any new emails will be immediately discarded until space is made available for the mailbox.

To prevent this you should employ one of the following:

  • Employ POP3 with deletion after x days on your mailbox. This will maintain your email on the server for an allocated amount of time for other devices to retrieve it. After this time has elapsed the email will be delete from the mail server.
  • Access the mailbox directly on the server via Roundcube Webmail and delete any old or unwanted emails.
  • Increase your mailbox quota above your hosting packages inclusive amount.